A License is a legal requirement to operate your vehicle. The same rules and regulations apply to motorcycles.
Most people often get confused with the laws and regulations of motorcycle riding, as they show much different from other vehicles.
Especially learner drivers have to display L plates on their bikes during their riding journey. Thanks to the L plates, they make learner drivers easy to recognize on the road.
It is an essential legal requirement to alert other road users that an inexperienced driver is controlling the car.
However, if a learner driver is riding a motorcycle without an L plate, it can land him a fine or penalty point.
Look over this guide to catch up with the rules around L plates so you can avoid any unsavory police encounters.
What are L Plates?
L plates are the red decals of the dimension 1-by-1⁄2-inch that need to be displayed on the vehicle by learner drivers. The square sign presents an L letter, which stands for a learner.
It warns other road users that the vehicle’s control is in the hands of a novice driver. L plates are mandatory to be displayed either on the front or back side license plates of the vehicle.
The Consequences of Riding Without L Plates
Depending on which state you live in, you must be 15 or 16 to operate a motorcycle legally. There are a lot of safety and legal issues that might occur in case you are riding a bike without a license or permit.
If you wouldn’t follow your state’s motorcycle permit or license laws, you risk getting a hefty fine. Once you turn 18, you will at least need a motorcycle permit.
The police officer can charge a fine if he pulls over you for riding a motorcycle without L plate. Depending upon the reason they pulled you over, a fine can range from $500-$1000.
He can confiscate and seize the motorcycle at the owner’s expense. In extreme cases, the rider may end up in jail.
In most states in the U.S., your insurance coverage may lapse if you don’t have a valid permit or license.
Are L Plates a Legal Requirement?
Yes, it is a legal requirement for learner drivers to display the L-pale decals all the time. Driving a motorcycle without L-plates or permits could lead to heavy penalties and even jail times.
It could end in $1000 fines and up to 6 months’ jail for riding a motorcycle without a warrant or permit in California.
Causing an accident or damage to another part would create a world of mess for learner drivers without L-plates.
Penalties in New Jersey for Driving Without L Plates
In the state of New Jersey, it is compulsory for drivers under the age of 21 holding a learner’s permit to display detachable red L plates. You can either display it on the front or backside of your vehicles.
Kyleigh’s law governs the rules and regulations for L-plates in New Jersey. According to this law, a driver had to pay $25 compensation if pulled over for the first and second offense.
A third offense could land you 2 penalty points on your driver’s license. In case of the 4th offense, it will subject the teen drivers to probation. It also impounds their license for up to 6 months.
What happens if you ride without L Plates?
It could cause serious consequences if you ride without L plates. If you are a learning driver, you must display an L plate all the time while on the road.
Otherwise, you would have to pay hefty fines. It may also result in serious confiscation, penalty points, probation period, and legal takeaway of your license for up to 6 months.
How do you ride a 125 without L-plates?
You can ride 125cc bikes without L plates once you have passed your motorcycle driver theory test. Depending on your age, carry A1, or A2 license for riding large size engine bikes.
What happens if you ride a motorbike without L-plates?
You could have to pay a fine and even end up impounding your vehicle for failing to display L plates. The offense could earn your penalty points on your license and may seize your license.
Can I ride a motorbike without L-plates?
Yes, you can ride any machine up to 125cc without L plates once you have passed your practical test. You will get your A2 license after passing the test and may carry a pillion passenger.